Allison clinches Late Model Truck Series season championship

Mark Allison (center) clinched the 2018 Late Model Truck Series season championship with a third-place finish at Havasu 95 Speedway on Saturday night.  (Madd Creative Images photo)

Porter wins season finale at Havasu 95 Speedway

Mark Allison can now call himself a series champion.

The veteran driver from Las Vegas finished third in the 35-lap Late Model Truck Series season finale at Havasu 95 Speedway in Lake Havasu City, Ariz., on Saturday night to clinch the first-year series’ season title. Allison – who won the Oct. 13 LMTS race at The Speedway at Willow Springs in Rosamond, Calif. – finished the year with 242 points to edge series co-managers Gary Wyatt (218) and Mike Riefler (211) for the season crown.

Andrew Porter took the checkered flag at the 10-truck season finale, with Dennis Arena crossing the line second. John Nahoopii followed Allison in fourth, with Eric Reschke rounding out the top five.

Andrew Porter won the season-ending Late Model Truck Series race at Havasu 95 Speedway on Saturday night and finished seventh in the season points standings.  (Madd Creative Images photo)


The race was the feature of the Salute to Veterans Weekend for the regional series. Allison received product certificate toward Richmond Gear discounts in addition to the payout, and the top five finishers took home The Racer’s Rewards Contingency Connection coupon books with up to $3,000 in race product coupons.

“Congratulations to Mark Allison for his season championship, and Gary Wyatt and I couldn’t be more pleased to have him represent the Late Model Truck Series,” Riefler said. “We had a great season, with four different race winners and great competition, and we’d like to thank all of our sponsors and partners who made it possible. We are looking forward to an even bigger and better 2019.”

Thane Alderman won the series’ season-opener at The Bullring at Las Vegas Motor Speedway on Aug. 25, with Dustin Ash taking the checkered there on Sept. 22. Reschke finished fourth in points with 166, with Mike McKearn claiming fifth place with 109.

The Late Model Truck Series completed a successful return to action in 2018, closing the season with 10 entries at Havasu 95 Speedway on Nov. 10.  (Madd Creative Images photo)


The region’s truck racing lineage dates back to the Speed Truck Series that originated in 1997 under the American Speed Association (ASA). MechanixWear gloves and Go Fast! energy drinks sponsored the class throughout the years, and the trucks raced at up to 10 different tracks in California, Arizona and Nevada before the ASA disbanded in 2013.

The series trucks feature a full-tube chassis, a 330-horsepower sealed V-8 spec engine and two-speed direct-drive transmission, with a clutch pedal dump valve, coupled to an aluminum quick-change rear end. The trucks sport replica fiberglass bodies of the Chevrolet S-10, Chevrolet Colorado, Dodge Dakota, Ford Ranger and Toyota Tacoma.

Series partners include the On Wheels Now online radio show – the longest-running motorsports radio show in Las Vegas – Melling Performance RacingThe Bomber NationKO Mechanical ServicesGary’s Trailer RepairNevada Pic-A-PartThe “Racer’s Rewards” Contingency ConnectionRichmond GearCampout and

Final 2018 Late Model Truck Series points standings

1. Mark Allison 242 points; 2. Gary Wyatt 218; 3. Mike Riefler 211; 4. Eric Reschke 166; 5. Mike McKearn 109; 6. Arlie Daniels 100; 7. Andrew Porter 75; 8. Dustin Ash 72; 9. Thane Alderman 67; 10. Bob Santa Maria 63; 11. Dennis Arena 62; 12. John Nahoopii 57; 13. Kenny Smith 50; 14. Jennifer Hall 44; 15. (tie) Adam Jeffrey and Pat Petrie 1.

Late Model Truck Series results
Havasu 95 Speedway, Lake Havasu City, Ariz.
Saturday, Nov. 10

35-lap feature
1. Andrew Porter; 2. Dennis Arena; 3. Mark Allison; 4. John Nahoopii; 5. Eric Reschke; 6. Kenny Smith; 7. Mike McKearn; 8. Gary Wyatt; 9. Jennifer Hall; 10. Mike Riefler.