Cambensy becomes fourth different Late Model Truck Series winner of 2019 with triumph at The Bullring on Pack the Track Night

AUTO: AUG 31 LVMS Bullring - Pack the Track
Cody Cambensy of Tucson, Ariz., bested a field of 14 other talented drivers at Pack the Track Night presented by K&N Air Filters at The Bullring at LVMS on Saturday.  (Photos courtesy of Jeff Speer/LVMS)


LAS VEGAS – Cody Cambensy had never been to The Bullring at Las Vegas Motor Speedway, but he didn’t let that stop him from taking the checkered flag in the Late Model Truck Series race at Pack the Track Night presented by K&N Air Filters on Saturday.

The Tucson, Ariz., driver wheeled his way to Victory Lane in the 35-lap Campout LMTS race presented by Richmond Gear, crossing the line more than three seconds ahead of a photo finish between Matt Jaskol and Michael Egurloa. Cambensy survived a late re-start to top a 15-truck field, the largest since the series returned to action last year.

“I’d never been to this track, and I didn’t know if these guys were going to be able to get underneath me on that last re-start,” said Cambensy, who joined Bill Black, Lee Keach and Mark Allison as LMTS feature winners this season. “The first (re-start), I didn’t do too well at it, but I’m thrilled to bring it home. I decided to come out here with my teammate Bob (Santa Maria) and have some fun, and I couldn’t do it without all the guys.

“I’ve got to thank TMI, Lawley Chevrolet, Dustin Ash, Brandon Farrington, my wife, my cousin Joe and everyone else on this team for helping me.”

AUTO: AUG 31 LVMS Bullring - Pack the Track
Cody Cambensy (No. 22) won the 35-lap LMTS feature by more than three seconds to become the series’ fourth different winner of the 2019 season.


Points leader Mark Allison finished fourth, with John Nahoopi taking fifth place in the feature. Both qualifying heat races were ultra competitive as well, with Black taking the first six-lap heat race by .440 of a second ahead of Sean Davis and Cambensy finishing second to Egurloa by .170 in the second heat.

“We had a great night of racing in both the heat races and the main event, and our truck count was the highest yet,” LMTS co-manager Mike Riefler said. “There are so many great drivers in our region, and it’s a thrill for Gary Wyatt and myself to see them come together for awesome action like we had at The Bullring on Saturday. We’re excited about our next two events and can’t wait to get back to Las Vegas for our Championship Night in November.”

Saturday’s race was the fourth of seven LMTS events scheduled for 2019, and the season will culminate on Championship Night at The Bullring at LVMS on Nov. 23. The LMTS also visits The Speedway at Willow Springs in Rosamond, Calif., on Oct. 12 and Havasu 95 Speedway in Lake Havasu City, Ariz., on Nov. 2.

AUTO: AUG 31 LVMS Bullring - Pack the Track
The Late Model Truck Series had a record 15 entries in Saturday’s feature in Las Vegas.


The region’s truck racing lineage dates back to the Speed Truck Series that originated in 1997 under the American Speed Association (ASA). MechanixWear gloves and Go Fast! energy drinks sponsored the class throughout the years, and the trucks raced at up to 10 different tracks in California, Arizona and Nevada before the ASA disbanded in 2013.

The series trucks feature a full-tube chassis, a 330-horsepower sealed V-8 spec engine and two-speed direct-drive transmission, with a clutch pedal dump valve, coupled to an aluminum quick-change rear end. The trucks sport replica fiberglass bodies of the Chevrolet S-10, Chevrolet Colorado, Dodge Dakota, Ford Ranger and Toyota Tacoma.

Series partners include the On Wheels Now online radio show – the longest-running motorsports radio show in Las Vegas – Melling Performance Racing, The Bomber Nation, KO Mechanical Services, Gary’s Trailer Repair, Nevada Pic-A-Part, The “Racer’s Rewards” Contingency Connection, Richmond Gear, Campout, and Bearing King AZ.

Remaining 2019 Late Model Truck Series schedule

Oct. 12             The Speedway at Willow Springs                            Rosamond, Calif.
Nov. 2              Havasu 95 Speedway                                                 Lake Havasu City, Ariz.
Championship Night
Nov. 23            The Bullring at Las Vegas Motor Speedway           Las Vegas

LMTS 35-lap feature
The Bullring at LVMS
Saturday, Aug. 31

1. Cody Cambensy; 2. Matt Jaskol; 3. Michael Egurloa; 4. Mark Allison (-4.042 seconds); 5. John Nahoopi (-5.450); 6. Bill Black (-6.450); 7. Bob Santa Maria (-6.857); 8. Patrick O’Hanley (-11.048); 9. Gary Wyatt (-1 lap); 10. Mike McKearn (-1 lap); 11. Davide Amaduzzi (-11 laps); 12. Sean Davis (-11 laps); 13. Mike Riefler (-15 laps); 14. Mike Young (-15 laps); 15. Gary Cheek (-17 laps).