Late Model Truck Series returning to Havasu 95 Speedway on Saturday night

The Late Model Truck Series returns to Havasu 95 Speedway this Saturday night for its second-to-last event of the 2019 season.  (Madd Creative Images photo)

Race is second-to-last event of 2019 season for second-year series

LAS VEGAS – Fans flocking to Havasu 95 Speedway in Lake Havasu City, Ariz., this weekend will be treated to an exciting Late Model Truck Series 35-lap feature as part of the evening’s racing lineup.

Points leader Mark Allison will lead a talented group of racers to the iconic short track for the second-to-last LMTS event of the 2019 season on Campout/Melling weekend for the series. With points at a premium, the pressure will be on Allison – the series’ defending season champion – to maintain his lead as the season comes to a close.

“I think I’ve got a pretty good shot at it,” said Allison, who has two LMTS victories this season. “I’ve done pretty well with that truck, and the owners are pretty happy with me, so we’re going to try and go win the championship. I like racing at Havasu, it’s a fun little track.”

The LMTS feature will be part of a full night of racing that will include a 75-lap SPEARS Modified Series race and features from the Get it in Gear Stocks and Sam Nichols Electrical Factory Stocks. Gates open at 4 p.m. MT, and racing begins at 6.

LMTS Havasu November Flyer 2019 r1.png

“Havasu 95 Speedway is a great track, and Gary Wyatt and I can’t wait to bring the Late Model Truck Series back there again,” series co-manager Mike Riefler said. “We had a competitive race there last November, and we’re looking to put on another great show again this Saturday night. The points race is heading to the final stretch, and it will be interesting to see how the championship battle plays out.”

Allison leads John Nahoopi by 25 points, 304-279, heading into Saturday, with Mike McKearn third with 241, series co-manager Wyatt in fourth with 202 and Bill Black rounding out the top five with 185. Riefler is next with 179, followed by Andrew Porter – who won the LMTS race at Havasu 95 Speedway last November – in seventh with 112.

This weekend’s race is the sixth of seven LMTS events scheduled for 2019, and the season will culminate on Championship Night at The Bullring at LVMS on Nov. 23.

The region’s truck racing lineage dates back to the Speed Truck Series that originated in 1997 under the American Speed Association (ASA). MechanixWear gloves and Go Fast! energy drinks sponsored the class throughout the years, and the trucks raced at up to 10 different tracks in California, Arizona and Nevada before the ASA disbanded in 2013.

The series trucks feature a full-tube chassis, a 330-horsepower sealed V-8 spec engine and two-speed direct-drive transmission, with a clutch pedal dump valve, coupled to an aluminum quick-change rear end. The trucks sport replica fiberglass bodies of the Chevrolet S-10, Chevrolet Colorado, Dodge Dakota, Ford Ranger and Toyota Tacoma.

Series partners include the On Wheels Now online radio show – the longest-running motorsports radio show in Las Vegas – Melling Performance Racing, The Bomber Nation, KO Mechanical Services, Gary’s Trailer Repair, Nevada Pic-A-Part, The “Racer’s Rewards” Contingency Connection, Richmond Gear, Campout, and Bearing King AZ.

Remaining 2019 Late Model Truck Series schedule

Nov. 2              Havasu 95 Speedway                                              Lake Havasu City, Ariz.
Championship Night
Nov. 23            The Bullring at Las Vegas Motor Speedway        Las Vegas

2019 Late Model Truck Series points standings
(Through Oct. 12 races)


1. Mark Allison 304 points; 2. John Nahoopi 279; 3. Mike McKearn 241; 4. Gary Wyatt 202; 5. Bill Black 185; 6. Mike Riefler 179; 7. Andrew Porter 112; 8. Gary Cheek 92; 9. Pat Petrie 85; 10. Sean Davis 83; 11. Lee Keach 65; 12. Cody Cambensy 64; 13. Matt Daly 59; 14. Stan Mullis 58; 15. Matt Jaskol 58; 16. Aaron McMorran 56; 17. Michael Egurloa 56; 18. Richard Bogart 50; 19. Cindy Clark 48; 20. Bob Santa Maria 48; 21. Kenny Smith 48; 22. Dow Woerner 46; 23. Patrick O’Hanley 46; 24. David Amaduzzi 40; 25. Mike Young 34.