Ricky Bogart wins Late Model Truck Series feature at Havasu 95 Speedway

Ricky Bogart of Phoenix picked up his first career Late Model Truck Series victory at Havasu 95 Speedway on Saturday night.  (Madd Creative Images photos)


Phoenix driver becomes eighth different LMTS winner in two years

Phoenix driver Ricky Bogart made the drive to Lake Havasu City, Ariz., and drove all the way to victory lane in the Late Model Truck Series feature at Havasu 95 Speedway on Saturday night.

The 44-year-old veteran wheelman out-dueled reigning LMTS champion and current points leader Mark Allison en route to the checkered flag in the 35-lap feature, which was part of Campout/Melling weekend for the series. Bogart started on the outside of the front row and never looked back after getting to the lead.

He was thrilled to make his way to victory lane.

“The place was fun and I had a good time,” said Bogart, a third-generation racer. “That was the first time I’d ever seen the track and had never turned a lap on it until Friday. It reminded me of my old home track, Cajon Speedway in El Cajon.

“The truck was perfect, and I couldn’t have asked for anything better. I just had to focus on what was in front of me.”

Ricky Bogart wheeled his No. 4 truck to victory at Havasu 95 Speedway on Nov. 2, with LMTS points leader Mark Allison (No. 3) taking second place.


Allison finished 5.609 seconds back, with 2019 race winner Bill Black crossing the line third, Mike McKearn finishing fourth and Sean Davis taking fifth. Bogart’s sister, Lisa, also competed in the race, but had to settle for 11th place after going out on Lap 13.

Allison maintained his points lead and will be eyeing his second straight season title when the LMTS finishes its 2019 campaign at The Bullring at Las Vegas Motor Speedway on Nov. 23. Bogart became the fifth different LMTS race winner this season, a year that has been a successful one for the regional series.

“It’s been a great season for the Late Model Truck Series, and we had another great race at Havasu 95 Speedway on Saturday night,” series co-manager Mike Riefler said. “Gary Wyatt and I have been excited by the parity this year, and you never know who is going to end up in the winner’s circle. We can’t wait to put an exclamation point on 2019 in Las Vegas later this month.”

Havasu 95 Speedway provided a great backdrop for racing on Saturday night.


The region’s truck racing lineage dates back to the Speed Truck Series that originated in 1997 under the American Speed Association (ASA). MechanixWear gloves and Go Fast! energy drinks sponsored the class throughout the years, and the trucks raced at up to 10 different tracks in California, Arizona and Nevada before the ASA disbanded in 2013.

The series trucks feature a full-tube chassis, a 330-horsepower sealed V-8 spec engine and two-speed direct-drive transmission, with a clutch pedal dump valve, coupled to an aluminum quick-change rear end. The trucks sport replica fiberglass bodies of the Chevrolet S-10, Chevrolet Colorado, Dodge Dakota, Ford Ranger and Toyota Tacoma.

The Nov. 2 race at Havasu 95 Speedway was the sixth of seven races on the 2019 Late Model Truck Series schedule.


Series partners include the On Wheels Now online radio show – the longest-running motorsports radio show in Las Vegas – Melling Performance Racing, The Bomber Nation, KO Mechanical Services, Gary’s Trailer Repair, Nevada Pic-A-Part, The “Racer’s Rewards” Contingency Connection, Richmond Gear, Campout, ReliableBanner.com and Bearing King AZ.

Late Model Truck Series 35-lap feature
Havasu 95 Speedway, Lake Havasu City, Ariz.
Nov. 2 results

  1. Ricky Bogart; 2. Mark Allison; 3. Bill Black; 4. Mike McKearn; 5. Sean Davis; 6. Curtis Burns; 7. Gary Cheek; 8. Gary Wyatt; 9. John Nahoopi; 10. Michael Riefler; 11. Lisa Bogart.

Remaining 2019 Late Model Truck Series schedule


Championship Night
Nov. 23                      The Bullring at Las Vegas Motor Speedway           Las Vegas