Black earns second career Late Model Truck Series win with victory in Irwindale

Bill Black won his first Late Model Truck Series race since a Lake Havasu win in March of 2019 when he took the checkered flag at Irwindale Speedway on Saturday, Sept. 10.

Veteran driver picks up first series win since 2019

Veteran driver Bill Black held off a hard-charging challenge from David Levitt to earn his first Late Model Truck Series victory in more than three years by taking the checkered flag at Irwindale Speedway on Saturday night.

Black had Levitt—who won the series’ July 3 race at The Bullring’s Night of Fire in Las Vegas—on his bumper down the stretch, but was able to hold off the Arizona driver and earn a spot in Victory Lane. Stan Mullis was third, Curtis Burns took fourth and series co-manager Gary Wyatt rounded out the top five.

Mark Allison, the season points leader, missed the heat races because of transmission issues and was forced to go to a backup truck and start from the back of the field. He took sixth place ahead of Arlie Daniel and will take his points lead—362-336 over Wyatt—into the season finale in Las Vegas on Oct. 14.

“Bill and David put on a great show, and we had another great finish in Irwindale,” said series co-manager Mike Riefler, who is fifth in points with 252. “Points leader Mark Allison showed a lot of resolve to hold on to the season points lead after a bad transmission put him in a backup truck, and he and Gary Wyatt are set up for a great sprint to the finish on Championship Night at The Bullring next month. I can’t wait to see what happens in Vegas!”

Mullis is third in points with 295, with Daniel in fourth at 286 ahead of Riefler. Black moved up to sixth in points with the Irwindale win and now has 228, with Rookie of the Year leader Chloe Lynch seventh with 221.

Resurrected in 2018, the LMTS has conducted 20 races throughout the Southwest region in recent years, including a six-race schedule in 2021 after a year away due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Allison won the series points championship in 2018 and 2019, and fellow Las Vegas native Mullis took home last year’s series title.

The region’s truck racing lineage dates to the Speed Truck Series that originated in 1997 under the American Speed Association (ASA). MechanixWear gloves and Go Fast! energy drinks sponsored the class throughout the years, and the trucks raced at up to 10 different tracks in California, Arizona and Nevada before the ASA disbanded in 2013.

The series trucks feature a full-tube chassis, a 330-horsepower sealed V-8 spec engine and two-speed direct-drive transmission, with a clutch pedal dump valve, coupled to an aluminum quick-change rear end. The trucks sport replica fiberglass bodies of the Chevrolet S-10, Chevrolet Colorado, Dodge Dakota, Ford Ranger and Toyota Tacoma.

Series partners include the On Wheels Now online radio show – the longest-running motorsports radio show in Las Vegas – Campout and

Sept. 10 race results
Irwindale Speedway
Irwindale, California

35 laps
1. Bill Black; 2. David Levitt; 3. Stan Mullis; 4. Curtis Burns; 5. Gary Wyatt; 6. Mark Allison; 7. Arlie Daniel.

Remaining 2022 Late Model Truck Series schedule

Oct. 14            LMTS Championship Night/ARCA Menards Series West race
                        The Bullring at Las Vegas Motor Speedway           Las Vegas, Nevada