Late Model Truck Series to crown season points champion at The Bullring at LVMS on Friday

The Late Model Truck Series will crown its 2022 champion at The Bullring at Las Vegas Motor Speedway in Las Vegas on Friday night. (Photo by Jeff Speer/LVMS)

Truck race part of special ARCA Menards Series West event night

The Late Model Truck Series will crown its 2022 season points champion as part of an action-packed evening of racing at The Bullring at Las Vegas Motor Speedway on Friday night.

Top truck drivers from across the region will do battle at the 3/8-mile paved oval in the Vegas desert as part of the Star Nursery 150 & Local Championship Night. LMTS drivers are slated for a 35-lap feature race to determine this year’s points champ, and two-time series points champion Mark Allison (2018-19) is looking to add a third title to his resume.

Allison has won two races this year and leads series co-manager Gary Wyatt 362-336 in the points standings heading into Friday’s finale. Stan Mullis, the 2021 series points champion, is third with 295, with Arlie Daniel (286) and series co-manager Mike Riefler (252) rounding out the top five.

“We are thrilled to be part of such a great race night at The Bullring this Friday and to help kick off an awesome weekend of racing in Las Vegas this weekend,” Riefler said. “Mark, Gary and Stan are in one heck of a points battle, and I can’t wait to see who comes out on top. We love racing at The Bullring, and we know there will be a big crowd there to cheer us on and enjoy some great truck racing as we finish our fourth season.”

Friday’s Bullring event kicks of Las Vegas Motor Speedway’s fall NASCAR event weekend that continues with the ALSCO Uniforms 302 Xfinity Series race on Saturday and Sunday’s South Point 400 NASCAR Series race. Gates open at 4 p.m., a pre-race concert will take place at 4:30, and Las Vegas’ Kurt Busch and Brendan Gaughan will join the ARCA Series drivers for an autograph session at the track at 5:30 p.m. Tickets can be purchased here.

The region’s truck racing lineage dates back to the Speed Truck Series that originated in 1997 under the American Speed Association (ASA). MechanixWear gloves and Go Fast! energy drinks sponsored the class throughout the years, and the trucks raced at up to 10 different tracks in California, Arizona and Nevada before the ASA disbanded in 2013.

The series trucks feature a full-tube chassis, a 330-horsepower sealed V-8 spec engine and two-speed direct-drive transmission, with a clutch pedal dump valve, coupled to an aluminum quick-change rear end. The trucks sport replica fiberglass bodies of the Chevrolet S-10, Chevrolet Colorado, Dodge Dakota, Ford Ranger and Toyota Tacoma.

Series partners include the On Wheels Now online radio show – the longest-running motorsports radio show in Las Vegas – Campout and

2022 Late Model Truck Series points standings
(Through Sept. 10 races)

1. Mark Allison 362 points; 2. Gary Wyatt 336; 3. Stan Mullis 295; 4. Arlie Daniel 286; 5. Michael Riefler 252; 6. Bill Black 228; 7. Chloe Lynch 221; 8. David Levitt 126; 9. Michael Egurola 116; 10. Curtis Burns 101; 11. Gary Cheeks 89; 12. Lee Keach 63; T13. Mike Young and Matt Jaskol 44; 15. Fred Kiser Jr. 40.